MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
rendyraj
Posts: 5
hello,
so here we go, i have a project that builds a trim wheel, the equipment i use is a rotary encoder, Arduino mega 2560, and i use Microsoft FSX.
the aircraft i choose is Cessna 172. i have downloaded Arduino IDE, fsuipc, and ofcourse mobiflight.
first of all, everything is okay except when i try to open mobiflight and going to setting the configurate module is "none" there is any module right there and sign below is not green checklist only FSUIPC has a green sign.

the ardunio mega also have input to the computer. pls help me do you know how to fix it, or have any idea to build the trim wheel?
2019-10-21 16:59
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2738
Supporter
Hi

A non detected Arduino can have multiple reasons.

At first please confirm you connect the Arduino BEFORE you start Mobiflight Software. A Board that is connected after starting the software is normaly not shown.

If you do that and problem is not solved sometimes a arduino can have a issue. ( specialy if you use it before with other systems) .
Make a "EEPROM Clear" Delete.
( Use this sketch from Arduino IDE with the Board and restart it.... Then its "Empty" ) .
Then conect the board again..... Start Mobiflight ..... And now it should be detected and Mobiflight offert you the Flashing of Firmware.

In rare cases some Arduino Clone Boards can not be found by Mobiflight cause this "exotic" Boards got a ID Number that is not in the list. In that case Sebastian must include this Number to Mobiflight. Please contact him via Email or create a BitBucket Issue Report including the "Number" of your Board.

***********
About the TrimWheel.
If this is a simple INPUT ( without a Motor) then thats a easy "Encoder Input" . You define here for Right and LEft simply a command that increase/decrease the Simulator Trim Value. .... Here you normaly can use Event Id´s or Offset Inputs.... Whatever is more confortable to you.
Good Luck !
2019-10-22 00:30
Avatar
rendyraj
Posts: 5
i have tried everything that you told me but still, my ardunio still cannot recognize in mobiflight. what i have to do? please help
2019-10-23 05:52
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2738
Supporter
In case i can not see your system and can not test there i not be able to tell you the reason of the problem.

What can you do now......

1. If you got another Arduino Mega ( other brand if possible) you can simply test if problem is located to this single mega or to exactly this kind of Mega (Manifactur)
Maby you also can tell us what Mega you got .

If i´m right and the problem is simply the missing "number" so mobiflight not autodetect it then Sebastian must tell you how to readout this number and then he can "hotfix" Mobiflight or include this in the next version...... then Mobiflight see your board.

2. Upload Firmware manualy.
Here i not have any knowledge..... But basicly the HEX Files are included in the Mobiflight Folder when you install it. With a Programm like xloader its possible to upload that data by hand..... So you will do simply manualy, what mobiflight should do. If Firmware is installed the board should be detected correctly i think.

Please wait for reply from Sebastian for further information.
Good Luck !
2019-10-23 06:16
Avatar
thatchi
Posts: 123
Ok. As per pizman said. Clear mega by select eeprom clear and upload to mega by arduino IDE (up to date version).
Then run MF, set path to your arduino IDE location. U may want to close and restart MF again to upload MF firmware to mega by itself, if not u can force MF firmware upload by right click on mega board and choose firmware upload.
MF now will recognize mega by green check on bottom status bar. Good luck .
2019-10-23 06:17
Avatar
rendyraj
Posts: 5
okay then
1, how can i show you my ardunio mega is that any email i can send the picture also how i know to get the number of my ardunio
2. i will try xloader and give the update

thank you
2019-10-23 06:31
Avatar
rendyraj
Posts: 5
hey, just giving update my mobiflight for module still cannot function and detected

any other suggestion?
2019-11-06 09:23
Avatar
thatchi
Posts: 123
Is your mega working with arduino ide ? Try to load a test code with arduino ide. If not working you should check the driver. The Chinese mega use ch340 driver and need to install manually.
2019-11-06 11:05
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2738
Supporter
Check this Topic please......
https://www.mobiflight.com/forum/topic/4101.html

Pretty sure you got maby the same problem OR your Mega is simply missing and you must send Sebastian the needed Numbers.


About Arduino.... We not need a picture..... Just use Google.

That is a Origional Arduino ..... https://store.arduino.cc/arduino-mega-2560-rev3

That are Google Pictures from different manifacturs .... https://www.google.com/search?q=arduino+mega2560&client=firefox-b-d&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiA6PrhjtflAhXLbVAKHWEUDmQQ_AUIESgB&biw=1920&bih=938

You see just the manifactur brand is missing.... But it looks same.
Good Luck !
2019-11-07 04:08
Avatar
Mazz1983
Posts: 8
Your USB cable carries power only, and not data.
Try changing USB cable with one that carries data.
2019-11-14 16:30
icon