MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
imflabulous
Hello! This is my first time on the forums and I hope everyone's doing well.

I've been wanting to get into DIY stuff for a while and I thought to use this spare time during quarantine to start. I'm pretty unfamiliar with how all this works so I apologize if I don't understand right away.

I basically want to create a motorized throttle quadrant for use with the PMDG 777. I already have an idea of how everything will work mechanically: A servomotor will be connected via a small electronic clutch to a throttle lever, which is then connected to a rotary potentiometer to read angle data. The clutch is turned on when A/T is engaged (except in HOLD mode) and the servo can control the angle of throttle lever. But when A/T is disengaged or in HOLD mode, the clutch turns off and the throttle lever can be moved by hand independently from the servo (moving a servo by hand can damage it). But servos can't be moved 360°, so I also need to make the servo follow the angle of the throttle lever as I move it.

A motorized speedbrake lever will also be present but that seems much easier to do given the servo only has to rotate the lever to its fully-extended position during touchdown and that's it.

Thing is, I'm not sure exactly how to start programming this. If this quadrant were not motorized, this would be a lot easier because it's all input and I just need to map the correct axes to FSUIPC (I think). But since it's motorized, it needs to take data from the simulator (specifically the instantaneous throttle lever position), drive servomotors to achieve a desired position and also engage/disengage the clutch.