MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
I have tried to set up a servo to duplicate APU EGT for 737NGx.
I found the Offset to be 648C with 4 byte, but then it said FLT32 as data type???
I tried several option via Mobiflight and Ard. Mega but did not get it to work.
Anyone that can explain to me how to set up this.
Henning
2020-02-24 01:11
Avatar
StephanHo
Moderator
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 1545
Supporter
Hello Henning,

FLT32 is nothing more than FLOAT. However, since this value is based on 4 bytes and 4 bytes = 32 bits (1 byte = 8 bits and 4 bytes = 4 x 8 = 32 bits), this means nothing more than that the 4 bytes are to be considered in floating point arithmetic.

You set the type Float in MF and the size in Bytes 4.

If the values are too small to move the needle, you should try to find a value in the transform line with a corresponding multiplier that enables a clean representation. The same applies if the value is too large, then divide by transform so that a corresponding representation is made.
Grüße,
Stephan
2020-02-24 09:04
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
Thanks Stephan.
I have got it to rotate, but problem is that when I start the APU with the arrow at 0 it rotate a full 360 pluss it goes to 3.6 on the scale.
I have min value 0, max value 255 and max rotation set to 75.
Do you have any suggestion on what to alter to get correct rotation an value.
I have tried with other values for min and max without any luck
Henning
2020-02-24 13:03
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3733
Supporter
Hi Henning....

I´m not on my FlightSim Computer..... so i can not test for you.
BUT its basicly better already if you learn it yourself.... so do the follow.

Open a NEW Config File. Just Read this single Value ( EGT) as a Output Config. NOT use a Device like your Motor. We jut want to observe the Value.
Now Run Mobiflight and Sim..... Window mode so you can see the Mobiflight Window same time like the Sim.

Observe now the 2 Values Right in this Config Line FSUIPC Value.... and OUTPUT Value.
Start your APU
Now you can see the Values.... How the Raw value look like.... How the Output Value look like.

And here you can learn what Values you need finaly in the Motor setting.

For example if you see here that Value show nearly degrees.... So it show a value of 500+ while running APU then you maby now understand the problem.
If you say in Servo Settings MIN 0 MAX 255 then your Servo turn to 100% Point at 250° .... But APU increase maby to 800° so it "override" the servo.

SAME System is needed for every single Gauge in your Cockpit....
Read the Value without Device..... and Learn by testing how Value looks like and what range it got..... Then the needed Settings can be calculated without problems.
Good Luck !
2020-02-26 03:16
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 65
Hi Henning,
pizman is right when he says he experiences ourselves.
I did what Pizman says; I suffered but I managed to make the configurations.
I have completed my Hoverhead 737 and it works well but it has not been easy.
The SERVO configuration for PMDG 737 - APU EGT is:
FSUIPC: 0x648C - FLOAT - SIZE 4;
APPEARS: NO;
DISPLAY: min value = 0 - max value = 1100 - max rotation = 65%;
PRECONDITION = NO.
of course, when you have the value 0 you must place the needle on the zero of the dial.
Hopefully everything ok.
MF - simply wonderful !!
2020-02-26 11:58
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
Thanks, that worked 100 %.
Is there any guidelines for the settings of min, max and max rotation.
It was the max value of 1100 that made the difference.
Is it possible to ask auransbey about the other values for the overhead instrumentation
if so my mail is henning@ringsvold.no
Henning
2020-02-26 20:54
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
I am not that good to find the cfg. file to replace, I guess I have to rename the old one.
Can you explain to me which :cfg and the normal lokation.
Henning
2020-02-27 15:28
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 65
Hi Henning,
tomorrow I hope to have time to copy the configurations of all the overhead gauges to a sheet of paper.
in this way I will be able to publish them here.
after entering the configurations (and studying their logic), just save before exiting MF.
however everything will be automatically saved by MF
MF - simply wonderful !!
2020-02-27 20:35
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 65
Hi Henning,
I write all the configurations of the Overhead 737;
CARB TEMP:
FSUIPC: 0x6458 - FLOAT - 4
TRANSFORM $ + 5
APPEARS: NO
DISPLAY: MIN = 0 - MAX = 100 - MAX ROT = 60%
PRECONDITION: NO

ALT CABIN:
FSUIPC: 0x6C24 - FLOAT - 4
COMPARE (INTERPOLATION)
0 0
10000 18000
15000 25000
20,000 32,000
25000 36000
30000 47000
35000 50000
40000 52000
50000 55000
DISPLAY: MIN = 0 - MAX = 50000 - MAX ROT = 72%
PRECONDITION: NO

CABIN DP:
FSUIPC: 0x6C28 - FLOAT - 4
TRANSFORM $ * 10
COMPARE (INTERPOLATION)
0 0
40 36
60 56
80 76
100 96
DISPLAY: MIN = 0 - MAX = 100 - MAX ROT = 74%
PRECONDITION: NO

CABIN CLIMB:
FSUIPC: 0x6C2C - FLOAT - 4
COMPARE (INTERPOLATION)
-4000 0
-2500 1000
-1000 2000
-500 3000
0 4000
500 5000
1000 6000
2500 7000
4000 8000
DISPLAY: MIN = 0 - MAX = 8000 - MAX ROT = 83%
PRECONDITION: NO

CABIN TEMP:
FSUIPC: 0x6C34 - FLOAT - 4
TRANSFORM $ -2
APPEARS: NO
DISPLAY: MIN = 0 - MAX = 100 - MAX ROT = 58%
PRECONDITION: NO

DUCT PRESS "A"
FSUIPC: 0x6C38 - FLOAT - 4
APPEARS: NO
DISPLAY: MIN = 0 - MAX = 80 - MAX ROT = 57%
PRECONDITION: NO

DUCT PRESS "B"
FSUIPC: 0x6C38 - FLOAT - 4
TRANSFORM $ + 2
COMPARE (INTERPOLATION)
0 0
10 15
20 20
30 35
40 40
50 55
60 60
70 75
80 80
DISPLAY: MIN = 5 - MAX = 85 - MAX ROT = 50%
PRECONDITION: NO

keep in mind that "DUCT PRESS B" is a scam.
in fact I was unable to find (I believe it does not exist) the offset value of the second gauge duct press.
then I created a configuration that is realistic and doesn't move like DUCT PRESS A.

I hope I have not made mistakes in copying all the configurations.
keep in mind that, in some cases, I have been able to make good approximations with the real values ​​and therefore these could be a little imperfect.
I couldn't have done better.
if something doesn't work let me know.
MF - simply wonderful !!
2020-02-28 19:46
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3733
Supporter
Hi guys.

As i wrote lots of times...... This can be working but it not have to.
Sure with auransbey´s data you save some time to "observe" the Offset yourself ..... But the final Settings are no garantee for success.
If your printed gauge label is a little different ( so you use a other jpg or photo or you designed it a little bit different) then the interpolations no longer hit your positions.
If your Motor got a other cogwheel system inside then the percent % of rotation is different to his values.

So there is only ONE perfect solution. Every user must do this calculations and testings himelf OR every user on this world must use exactly the same Motor and printed gauge (witch is not possible).


By the way.... If you copy/paste this solution you will also copy the issues in auransbeys Config File.
(Maby the final result looks good..... But the Configs are not logical on first view)

For example...
- What is the reason for the Transform $+5 in the FuleTemp Gauge ??? Should it be always +5 Degrees° above the current Temp ??
- In Alt Cabine the Value 50.000 is change to 55.000 but the Motor is blocked at 50.000 ( make no sense)
- Cabin Temp Transform $-2 is also senseless like in Fuel Temp
- Duct B "Min 5" makes no sense
- Duct B Corect Offset should be " 6C3C 4 Byte FLT" ( Not tested if it is working but thats the only logical)
Good Luck !
2020-02-28 20:36
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
Thanks auransbey. I will try it but
Pizman82
I would love to learn how to do it. But at the moment I don't have the knowledge to find it out
I am not that good to find the cfg. file to replace, How I do it and I guess I have to rename the old one.
Can you explain to me in more detail (what to do) which :cfg How I do it and the normal locations so I can try to learn it.
Even if I am quite high in age I love to learn and have been in aviation for almost 60 years
Henning
2020-02-29 01:16
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3733
Supporter
No Problem Henning..... I not know your age.... But you can not be too old for cockpit building.... We have many users who are retired already.... so a big part of our comunity is 65 or older.

About your question.....
Sorry but i not understand.... WHAT do you mean with cfg file to replace ? May you mix up some facts, or i understand myself not your request.

Please tell me more detailed what you are looking for.
Good Luck !
2020-02-29 13:12
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
You said in MSG 17816:

(Open a NEW Config File. Just Read this single Value ( EGT) as a Output Config. NOT use a Device like your Motor. We jut want to observe the Value.
Now Run Mobiflight and Sim..... Window mode so you can see the Mobiflight Window same time like the Sim.

Observe now the 2 Values Right in this Config Line FSUIPC Value.... and OUTPUT Value.
Start your APU.
Now you can see the Values.... How the Raw value look like.... How the Output Value look like.)

This is the section I refer to and would love to learn more About.
I think I need a more detailed explanation to get this to sink into my head properly
Henning
2020-02-29 15:34
Avatar
hrings
Posts: 71
auransbey or Pizman.
Do you have knowledge on how to get the 7 segment to show correct.
It goes for both electrical and Flt Alt and Ldg alt. I know it might be solved via programing on Open Cocpit cards but is there any solution via MobiFlight.
Then I can keep it all together on one system
Henning
2020-02-29 17:14
icon