MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
airplndriver
Posts: 3
Hi all,

Very new to this and I have been searching for weeks... I have some toggle switches with led lights. I have managed to make the switch work for the parking brake. Is there away to make the integrated light work when the switch is on? I can make the light work or the switch but not both. If this question has been answered, please point me toward the post. Any ideas or even confirmation it can't work is appreciated.

Thanks,
Andy
2020-01-18 23:34
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 4465
Supporter
Hi Andy....
Welcome to Mobiflight and the world of Homecockpits.
You did a basic misstake and missunderstand the "logic" of Homecockpits.

For a Coffee Machine or a Car HiFi System a Switch should "show" its status via a LED.... Means if Switch is ON then LED also should be ON.
Those switches have a LED that is electrical combined to the switching system itself.... Means if Switching mechanic is "Closed" .... So the Controll circuit is ON then the LED is also Powered.
THIS is usefull for a Electronic device or a machine..... But it is basicly wrong for a Homecockpit !

In Case you told us, that you not be able to combine switch and LED i think you already got a switch, that is perfect for homecockpits..... Cause we need a Switch with a INDIPENDET System...... So The LED is not act in case of Switch position.... it must be a OWN System itself.


Simple Example..... Your Switch for the Fuel Pump should set Fule Pump to ON or OFF..... But if your fuel reserves are empty , then the Controll LED for he Pump should not be ON ( Whatever Switch is still ON)..... It must show for example "FAULT" on a other LED.
OR
Your Gear Status LED must light Only if Master Battery is ON..... So if your Aircraft is Cold and Dark..... The LED of the Switch must be OFF..... Whatever the Switch is still in ON Position.

*****************
Summary.....
A Switch / LED Combi must be seen as TWO Different Systems. Technical the LED can be 20 meters away from the switch ! .
The switch is a INPUT Device ( Mostly a Button) and is wired to PIN X at Mega and in Mobiflight.
The LED is a OUTPUT Device (LED) and is wired to Pin Y at Mega and Mobiflight.

Finaly The INPUT set a Function..... For example toggle the Gear Up and Down.
The LED "show" status of SIM Function and tell us if "virtual" Gear is Up or Down !

So.... For Switch you create a INPUT Config..... For LED You create a OUTPUT Config.


***********

I hope you understand.... If not simply ask.... Then i try to explane more detailed.
Good Luck !
2020-01-19 01:03
Avatar
airplndriver
Posts: 3
[pizman82] Thank you for the reply. I understand what you explained. I am playing with things and trying to sort through the process. I wonder if maybe the switch is the issue? It has three posts and the led on the rocker. I can't upload a pic but its pretty basic. Maybe it's too simple and fully integrated. When I have the switch activating the parking brake, the LED won't work and if the LED works, the switch won't move the brake setting. That simple fact would tell me that they are independent but then again... I'll play a little more and see if I can figure out things. I added the input (rocker) and output (led) and the input works.

The switch is like this... https://www.ebay.com/itm/NTE-54-645-A-SPST-Round-Rocker-Switch-w-Amber-LED-/321658165912

Thanks again for the help.
Andy
2020-01-19 03:05
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 4465
Supporter
The linked switch is a Combined switch i think..... Also it´s based on 12v .... means 99% for Car HiFi Systems .

For Mobiflight and Homecockpits we mostly work with 5v or below..... So for this LED you will need a Relais and a external power device ( Bad idea)


So.... Sorry but i can not tell you if your switch is fine or not.... Cause there exist millions of different switches and often 2 switches looks 100% identical and both have 3 Pins but they can be complety different electrical.

If you got a 2 Position switch ( whatever Momentary or latching) it can have 2 Pins (ON-OFF) OR it can have also 3 Pins (ON-ON) ..... The LED can have NO Pin if it is completly intigrated ..... It can have 1 Pin if it is indipended but use GRD from switching circle .... Or it can have 2 Pins if it have also a own GRD.

You see.... Your 3 Pins can mean 5 different systems....
To find out you must.... Testing OR Check by Multimeter OR you got a datasheet and check the shematics !
Good Luck !
2020-01-19 16:08
Avatar
krono
Posts: 27
Hi airpindriver

If you unclip the metal casing on your switch by prizing the 4 prongs out on base of switch and then pull the metal casing up you will see that the incorporated led has 2 wires. One goes to the external tab, the other goes through a serial resister to be soldered to the internal switch pole. Unsolder the wire at the pole, file a small indention on switch body to allow wire through and replace the casing. You now have the 2 wires roe the led externally so you can wire them as you would normally to mobiflight. The metal casing can be a bit difficult to replace but if you use either a small clamp or pliers you can do it. Re secure the 4 prongs in place with a pair of long nose pliers.
2020-04-08 03:35
Avatar
airplndriver
Posts: 3
Thanks. I'll give it a try...
2020-04-26 03:14
icon