MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
slammer88
From: LTBJ, Turkey
Posts: 147
Hey there.

On my newly built radio panel with 6 modules / 11 chips i'm having some problems.

When i plug-in the panel first, all the LED's are lit its like "8.8.8.8" and mobiflight does not recognize the board. after dis- and reconnecting the board, it becomes available.

Also the leds seem to flicker in a high ratio, barely noticable to eye but they do flicker. I feed them separately with 5V.

Any opinions ?
2019-05-18 12:22
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 1439
Supporter
Hi slammer,

if you see the 8.8.8.8... then you have a connection/wiring problem. The MAX-chip is very sensitive.

The LEDs are flickering because the were multiplexed with 1kHz. You normally should not see that. To feed every board with 5V is a good idea!

To avoid this behavior you should solder your wiring and check the solder point on the PCB.
Grüße,
Stephan
2019-05-18 14:59
Avatar
thatchi
Posts: 138
Yes. Better to use external power source and connect in parallel all max7219. I had one panel with x4 max7219 and got weird display randomly until I used external 5v in parallel. You can daisy chain up to x2 max I think and voltage drop only from 5v to 4.8v due to internal resistor of the max. I measured my daisy connection and the 4th max only got 4.3v. Connect like in this diagram from 737diysim.com.

The owner of 737diysim suggesting the same.
[Last edited by thatchi, 2019-05-19 09:17]
2019-05-19 00:16
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 1439
Supporter
Hi thatchi,

no, it's not the or a resistance who reduces the voltage. It's a diode, a silicon diode. It's the physical nature of a silicon diode that above her 0.7V of voltage drop.
So the Vcc of the 1st board is already 4.3V and at the 2nd on 3.7V and the 3rd one won't work because it have only 3.0V. The operational limit of the MAX-chip is 3.4V.

Solution: you did right in parallel connection of Vcc. Another way is to wire bridge the diode, then it is ok to wire the 5V from board to board.
Grüße,
Stephan
2019-05-19 16:36
Avatar
thatchi
Posts: 138
Your explanation is clear. :thumbup:
2019-05-20 07:43
Avatar
slammer88
From: LTBJ, Turkey
Posts: 147
After setting configs for all of the modules, it resolved itself. :scared:
2019-05-21 05:45
icon