MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
John-Alex-Warren
Posts: 18
That's a good find - now if you can find dual encoders for a reasonable price that would be the icing on the cake!! :-/
2018-04-12 22:57
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 4465
Supporter
Old Problematic.

Dual Encoders ( Encoder over Encoder) are available and not to expensive 20-30 $
Realy problematic are Dual Encoder/12 position switch Combinations or 12 Position/12 Position Combinations... ( Need in B737 for example)
Again Problematic are Rotary Switches with Push Button (or Pull Button like in Airbus) .... and Dual Encoder combis with Buttons !

Here exist 2 technics....

1. Drilling a hole through the original encoder/Rotary shaft and using a " shaft in shaft" system.... the Outer shaft is glued to the first Rotary/encoder (Where you drill the hole)
The inner shaft go though bottom if 1 Encoder and ends in a second encoder/rotary one secetion below the first one.
( If needed you can use a 3.rd Shaft into second shaft to controll a button in section 3 or a 3rd encoder for example)
http://www.simprojects.nl/images/ROT_8.JPG
I try out this but thats sucks... With professional Stand Drilling machines maby possible.... But by hand this not work like it should.



**********
2. A Cogwheel System.
Here you use full self build shaft ( 2 Metal shafts 1 into the other.... or maby 3 if you need a Button or a 3. encoder like in B737 ADF Switch)
In this solution the outer shifts end in a Cogwheel on level 1 .... the Inner shaft go through and ends in a encoder/ratary in level 2.
The Cogwheel is connected to a other cogwheel nearby and THIS is connected to the shaft of the second Encoder/rotary ( That is mounted nearby the first.
( For a 3rd encoder (Button or so) you can also use more then 1 Cogwheel sections... Always remeber "deepness" of a switch is no problem... only widenesss and hight. )
Check out this picture.
http://www.fagerjord.org/cockpit/other_img/rotary_with_encoder.jpg
Those systems can be bought in shops but verry expensive and not individual.... if you have a CNC Machine you can plan this switches yourself.


Last Note:
With this system you can also build special 45° / 90° / 120° Switches.
Mostly we can only by 30° 12 Position switches. Other are not found or ultra expensive !
DIY Rework is again difficult and not realy perfect.
With a Cogwheel System like 1,5-1 you can make a 30° Switch into a 45° Switch.
This will work with that housing above too if you redseign it a bit.... Again verry usefull when you bild this mechanics youreself !
Good Luck !
2018-04-13 04:02
Avatar
Typpex
Posts: 3
Perhaps this :
https://www.tindie.com/products/propwashsim/dual-concentric-encoders-with-switch-kit/

Small (2,5 cm high, 1,5 cm diameter) but works fine.
2018-04-15 16:32
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 1687
Supporter
You can go directly to this page

https://www.propwashsim.com/node/15
Grüße,
Stephan
2018-04-15 17:13
Avatar
starguider
Posts: 5
Supporter
Hi, the real catch if someone has find rotary encoders with two switches, for the PUSH and PULL operation, needed on the Airbus FCU.
Best regards,
Marinos
2018-04-16 11:10
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 4465
Supporter
Shop : Maby this..... https://www.mouser.de/ProductDetail/CUI/C14D16P-C3?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvy8cVzszrmR8e0mUKZ7grDE4d14R5A6EFa9cFr2ijN0g%3d%3d




Alternate I remember a guy who make this DIY....
Maby think about a housing for the hole switch ( behind the panel) .... On Top of Housing ( Space between this and the backside of panel) you mount a micro switch and 2 springs.

Now Pushing is the function of the switch..... Pull will move the hole element against the spring Power and push the micro switch.
If you get your hand off then the springs push the hole switch and housing 2-3 mm back until a endstop.

Another alternate is to work with simple switches..... look here.... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OmkiEdfpPI
Good Luck !
2018-04-17 12:05
Avatar
John-Alex-Warren
Posts: 18
iconTyppex:

Perhaps this :
https://www.tindie.com/products/propwashsim/dual-concentric-encoders-with-switch-kit/

Small (2,5 cm high, 1,5 cm diameter) but works fine.



£10 that's more like it. THANK YOU :thumbup: :thumbup:
2018-04-18 23:48
Avatar
Perseus
Posts: 1
https://www.simparts.de/en/dual-encoder-mit-pushbutton-en.html

Just leave this here - haven't tried them. But might be a good alternaive.
2020-04-04 13:28
Avatar
Klausi70
Posts: 59
Wenn man einen 3D Drucker besitzt ist das die günstigste und einfachste art : https://www.tinkercad.com/things/dwthDbal5YY-dual-concentric-rotary-encoder-with-push-button
Ich habe es so mit gebaut.
Lg
Klaus
2020-04-25 23:47
icon