MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
giocc
Hello,
I tried writing directly to Sebastian some time ago, but I never got a reply, so I thought I would also post on the forum in order to get in contact with him or someone else engaged in development.

I have always liked the power and simplicity of the Mobiflight system, however I have a hard time accepting a few of its limits that, in my opinion, may not be so difficult to overcome. I understand that Sebastian's time is obviously valuable, and the job done so far is great, so I think that just endlessly begging for changes and new features is not fair and it's simply not an option.

I have some experience in cockpit building by developing both hardware and software (which is also may day job, although not in the same field); once I finally got hold of the sources, I had a look at them and decided that maybe I could contribute to obtain a few improvements and extensions.

While waiting for a feedback, I already added a few new features to the Arduino code, most of which reguraly requested by users in the forum; however, please be advised that, as of now, nothing is yet tested (I just wanted a proof of concept to see that everything could be implemented and how).

Added features are:
- support for external digital I/O "blocks", accessible through up to 256 "pins" (handled as Buttons and Outputs exactly like on-board pins). I/O blocks are modular; currently implemented are HC165-type inputs, HC595-type outputs, MCP23017/23S17 I/Os, TLC5926/DM13/SM16126 LED drivers, key Matrix
- optimization of Arduino I/O access speed (digitalRead/Write)