MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
Japmaco
Posts: 48
I have noticed that Mobiflight has built in Dim function for 7 segments.
I wonder how i build this with hardware using a 10-20k pot?
If someone has some exp with this pls let me know.

Im after two functions here.

- Dim all my 5digits LEDs (have 4 in total in the radio module) using perhaps one 10-20k pot.
- Power of the LEDs with a 2 step rotary switch, in this case. Where would i mount the rotary encoder to have the LEDs shut off. I was thinking a Quick way to just shut of the LEDs without having to turn off mobiflight. And also make it abit more real. In this case just turn of the LEDs and not the actual radio.

Any ideas? =)
2016-12-28 21:06
Avatar
pizman82
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5128
Supporter
I see this function too, but i do not work with cause it´s only in the config......

So i can set there the Diggits should light brighter or darker when i create the Device config..... but not able to change this setting while working.

I think the only way is a hardware solution like you explane...... Its better to ! Why waste prozessor capacy for a function that work much easyer with a simple Pot.

And to the shutoff mechanic by a rotary... What´s the use for this ?? While Battery is On the Displays lighted in real Plane..... I think theres no need to put them Off by a switch. Or do you think about a different system i do not understand at the moment ??
Good Luck !
2016-12-29 00:53
Avatar
Japmaco
Posts: 48
It would be sweet to look and function like the real radio.

I guess its just a matter of cutting the Power at some Point in the design with a btn or a 2step rotary switch.
Like the real deal =)
http://www.bendixking.com/HWL/media/2013/ProductImages/p-KX155-TSO-zoom.jpg

I would love to have a on/off switch like the real one and also the possibilty to dim all displays with a pot or some sort.
2016-12-29 02:11
Avatar
pizman82
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5128
Supporter
OK.... Sorry i always think about the B737.... There is no Turnoff i think.....

So lets try to do this....

I see there is a Testing Button.... Maby this let show every Display 888888. This can be done by a Custom Offset and some Preconditions.....
The Pull Mechanic for this button is a little tricky but there are some "Do it Yourself" guides for those buttons (Like in Airbus MCP)

For Dimming and Turn Off i got no experience..... But normaly a Poti must do the same work like it work with an LED.... It´s the same like a resistor i think.
The Question is "where" to we set it ?? To dim all diggit segments it must be set between GRD and Max7219.... But Every Diggit got it´s own ground and we can not share it.
Maby we need to take the other side ..... If we put the resistor into GRD or 5v between the Max7219 and the Arduino that can work too..... But what happend when we wan´t to shut down the Displays ? Then the hole Max Module is out of Power..... Maby that will create issues after repower it by our Potentiometer.


If somebody got experience about dimming a Max7219 by Pot pls tell us.
Good Luck !
2016-12-29 13:38
Avatar
DocMoebiuz
Moderator
From: NW of KPWK, United States
Posts: 1477
You can dim the modules through software, but not to complete darkness. Right now, the brightness can only be set globally, not based on an offset.
Have a great day!
Sebastian

MobiFlight - Simply build your own home cockpit for your favorite flight sim - MSFS2020, FSX, Prepar3D (FSUIPC), X-Plane (XPUIPC)
2017-01-02 23:45
icon