MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
knowlesm@talk21.com
Posts: 4
Firstly can I say how delighted I am to discover version 9.6.0 specifically for X Plane. I am in the process of converting my 737 simulator from SimVim to Mobiflight. I had a working Simulator with SimVim Control but since the move to SimVim X I have had nothing but issues especially with displays. As a start I am currently converting the pedestal to Mobiflight and have been delighted with the results (I will be donating).

I have completed most of the pedestal transfer. I have an issue with the F/O Comms, Nav and ADF panels but I think that is my issue as the equivalent Pilots panels work perfectly.

The main function I have been unable to get working is the transponder mode switch. As per the 737 (Zibo version) I have a six position switch for the following functions: Test: Standby, Alt Rptg Off, XPNDR, TA Only, TA/RA. I have used DataRefTool to track the datarefs or commands. There are a number of commands such as "sim/transponder/transponder_on" which I have configured to pins on my switch but they do not seem to do anything. When I move the switch on screen , DataRrefTool shows "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_mode_dn" and "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_mode_up" which moves the corresponding switch correctly on screen.

Is there a way of configuring the 6 switch positions to mimic this or is there another set of commands or data references to do this?

Many thanks for your help and congratulations on an excellent piece of software.

Mike
2022-11-17 16:06
Avatar
Banzai
From: France
Posts: 89
hello

tape "transponder" in search bar of datareftool and you find the right command for the positon switch:

laminar/B738/knob/transponder_stby
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_ta
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_tara
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_tcas_test
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_test

you an use also write the dataref:

laminar/B738/knob/transponder_pos
2022-11-17 19:44
Avatar
knowlesm@talk21.com
Posts: 4
Hi Banzai

Many thanks for your help.

I was using the sim/transponder/ standard commands but none of them worked. I have been using datareftool using "transponder" and none of your commands appear.

However your commands "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_stby", and "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_tara" both work. I'm not sure why the others dont work but you have put me on the right track.

I tried to write "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_pos" but that dosnt work and datareftool states that the dataref value (0 to 5) cannot be overwritten.

Again I am very grateful for your help.

Regards

Mike
2022-11-18 16:11
Avatar
knowlesm@talk21.com
Posts: 4
Hi Banzai

I just got the command "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_ta" to work. They switch was in DataRef mode so I changed it to command mode and it worked.

I have a list of the sim/ DataRefs and commands but cannot find a similar list for the laminar/B738 DataRefs and commands. Do you know of a source?

Cheers

Mike
2022-11-18 16:26
Avatar
Banzai
From: France
Posts: 89
Hello

look


this is the command value you do put in mobiflight input config

laminar/B738/knob/transponder_stby= on press 1
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_altoff= on press 2
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_alton= on press 3
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_ta = on press 4
laminar/B738/knob/transponder_tara = on press 5

laminar/B738/knob/transponder_test = on press 0 (not work at the moment because a limitation of mobiflight for long press button)

and nothing input in "release" box for all config


sorry the dataref "laminar/B738/knob/transponder_pos" is not writeable

and you can find the list of dataref and command in the directory C:\X-Plane 11\Aircraft\B737-800X\B738_Commands.txt
C:\X-Plane 11\Aircraft\B737-800X\B738_Datarefs.txt

but something are missing !
2022-11-18 18:39
Avatar
knowlesm@talk21.com
Posts: 4
Hi Banzai

Thanks again for the feedback. Strangely my DataRefTool does not show those commands nor do they appear in C:\X-Plane 11\Aircraft\B737-800X\B738_Commands.txt

Having said that, all of the commands work so once again many thanks for your help.

Cheers

Mike
2022-11-19 12:39
icon