MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 77
good evening dear friends
this time I have a new problem and as always I ask for your help.
i have 737 pmdg and prepar3d.
in my T / Q I have two buttons for the reverse engine.
I can't configure this command in MF.
I tried 70312 and 70313 and various parameter but .......
nothing.
do you have any ideas?
as always many thanks
MF - simply wonderful !!
2022-11-15 14:49
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5783
Supporter
Hi

In Real a Reverser is not just a "Button" Its a axis. So if you enable the Reverser ( The side of Engine opens) then you can use this axis ( The handle behind the Throttle) to set the power. So Idle Revers up to full power reverse.

In Sim this is bad.... If you have a throttle TQ with this additional Axis you can set them correctly. If you have only buttons then you need to set them (in sim) with a repeat!
Cause press the Button one time means you set Reverse same as you would press F2 Button once. To increase Reverse you need to "hold" F2.

Solution.... You can use this repeat (in Sim cause MF not allow repeater action till now) .....
OR
You can use a SET Command with Mobiflight.
Means if you press this button then MF SET the Reverse to a defined Point.... E.g. IDLE or 30% or 60% or so.

In theory we could also build a multi press logic.... So Press 1 set to Idle, Press 2 set to 10% Press 3 set to 20% and so on.
Good Luck !
2022-11-15 15:06
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 77
many thanks, but I don't understand the "SET" logic
MF - simply wonderful !!
2022-11-15 15:37
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5783
Supporter
The Throttle(s) have own Offsets (P3D) or Variables(FS2020)

I not remember for now the exact values....
E.g. in P3D i think it was -4096 to +16383
0 Was IDLE .... All negatives was Reverse so -4096 was full reverse ...... All positives was simply throttle 0-100% 0-16383

SET means we write with a Button a fixed Value to the "Throttle Position Variable/Offset"
By send e.g. "-1000" to that variable we set the Throttle to maybe 25% Reverse.

EDIT: With same logic we could also build a Multi Press Logic....

E.g. On Press .... if($>-3500,$-500,-4096)
So every Press Increase the Reverse by 500 ( Maybe 1/8 step) until reverse is still at full , then we set to full to avoid a override.
Good Luck !
2022-11-15 16:20
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 77
thanks i almost solved with your formula.
however I would like the reverse to go to the maximum at the first touch.
how should i change your formula?
MF - simply wonderful !!
2022-11-15 18:55
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5783
Supporter
iconauransbey:


however I would like the reverse to go to the maximum at the first touch.
how should i change your formula?



Ok... Thats not realistic .... In Real 99% of landings pretty sure are done with idle reverse to save fuel and material.

But sure its possible and not need a formula at the end.....

Find out what value is used for Full reverse.... ( Read it as a Output and make full reverse in the sim with Mouse Keyboard)
If its as i expect -4096 then simply make a Input config for your button and say On Press Write That throttle Offset/Variable with value -4096
Means whatever your throttle is at the moment.... If you press the Button your Engine go to full reverse.
Good Luck !
2022-11-15 22:39
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 77
ok, i tried. but by directly entering -4096 I don't get the result immediately.
I get a first step on the first touch and then a second step on the second touch. strange
MF - simply wonderful !!
2022-11-16 12:27
Avatar
auransbey
From: ROME, Italy
Posts: 77
I also use the offset 088C.
maybe it is not correct but I have not found a more suitable offset.
MF - simply wonderful !!
2022-11-16 12:29
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5783
Supporter
Best way is to Readout the same Offset as a output and observe it while you test it.
Then you see what happen....

Check what does the offset show if you use full reverse in Sim.... And check what the offset do when you press your Button.

A possible issue is a flittering Joystick Axis.
Your button write the Axis to -4096 .... But every single Input on the Throttle itself for sure overwrite it also.... Move Joystick do the same like your button.... it send its current Position to the Sim and "overwrite" your -4096 Value.
Some Joysticks are very sensitive and without touch them they "flickering" a little bit.
So if joystick is in IDLE it should show "0" but if it show multiple times per second a value between 0 and 4 then each signal overwrite ypur setting !
Good Luck !
2022-11-17 00:18
Avatar
StephanHo
Moderator
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 1821
Supporter
Hi,

this offset does not exist in the PMDG. Here you have to take the Joystick button directly.

How to do:
Start the sim with FSUIPC
Go to menu and klick ADD-ONS
Click FSUIPC
If you have a registered Version of FSUIPC then you can go on, otherwithe you should register your Version.
When the FSUIPC screen appears, click on BUTTONS & SWITCHES
A new window opens
Checkmark "Select for key press" and
press your button for the reverser (only one of them)
On the left side you see an empty field with a "Set" and "Clear" button underneath
Click into this field and write herein F2
Checkmark before "Key press to repeat while held and
in the field below insert again F2
Press OK to take over
leave FSUIPC
Solder the 2nd button directly to the 1st button

How does it work?
If you press the reverser button then it is the same as if you press F2 on your Keyboard. F2 reduces the thrust and after it reaches the idle position it ran into the reverser position. The longer you press the button the more you increase the reverser. F2 works on both (all) engines. This is while you have inserted the 2nd F2 in the lower area within FSUIPC.

That's it. Have fun!
Grüße,
Stephan (Time: UTC+1)
2022-11-18 11:20
icon