MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

Go to page 1Go to page 012Go to page 2Go to page 2
Avatar
DocMoebiuz
Moderator
From: NW of KPWK, United States
Posts: 1477
Hi all,

I see numerous threads that report issues with the UNO. I want to use this thread to list the known bugs and set expectations right until I fix things.

Expectations

UNO support currently is experimental. Arduino UNO is very limited in terms of memory and is significantly slower than the Mega which are the main reasons for the current problems. I never owned a UNO myself but after so many users on the forum, I bough myself one and thought it would be easy to get the Mega Code running. This is unfotunately not the case and I have to invest more time into this.

Known Bugs

* Instable Firmware upload - when you upload the firmware, the reconnect after upload might not work and you see the module still not as a mobiflight module. In this case, close MobiFlight and start it again. The module should now show up correctly.
* Instable upload device configuration - After uploading configuration changes about the devices attached to the module, the module is not recognized anymore as a MobiFlight Module. Close MobiFlight and start it again. The configuration should now show up correctly and you will be able to configure outputs and inputs as usual.
* Arduino UNO with CH340 chip is recognized as Mega - Unfortunately I don't find a way to determine whether the chip sits on a MEGA or UNO. Both can use the same chip. Since the majority of the user base uses Mega with CH340 I decided to treat any board with a CH340 as a Mega until I find a better way to detect it.
You can use xloader and manually upload the firmware-hex-file to your UNO. That should help so that MobiFlight starts to recognize it correctly.
Have a great day!
Sebastian

MobiFlight - Simply build your own home cockpit for your favorite flight sim - MSFS2020, FSX, Prepar3D (FSUIPC), X-Plane (XPUIPC)
2017-03-08 07:43
Avatar
Psiko
Posts: 1
Hi, i can't upload the firmware to my arduino UNO. Im trying with mobiflight software and xloader too.Xloader say the firmware its uploaded but mobiflight don't recognize then. Mobiflight recognize my UNO as MEGA without firmware and doesn't rules. I need only 12 outputs to use as announcments and i'm not need a mega card. If this is an unique solution i'm thing to buy them. Thank you so much and sorry by my bad english.
[Last edited by Psiko, 2017-11-01 15:39]
2017-11-01 15:31
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5474
Supporter
I´m sorry for that.... But we stop UNO Support for the moment.
The basic Code is still there and if you want you can try out this.... But we not solve problems at the moment !

I know this policy is bad for UNO Users.... But we simply say a MEGA cost only 1-2$ more like a UNO..... A MEGA is working Fine and allow 100% more Pins.
I would recommned you to order a Mega ( whatever you only need 12 Pins) . There you are 100% Shure it work.
Again. Appology for your trouble !
Good Luck !
2017-11-01 16:51
Avatar
DrDave-
Posts: 3
Unfortunately, there are many users that join Mobiflight after many years of building Flight Sim cockpits. I have been building at least 3 (of different complexity) over the pat 7 years.

Started with Bodner and ended with Arduino because of cost and flexibility.

Many of us already have UNO. I have 1 Mega and 4 UNO. Sure would be nice to be able to use the UNO. A lot easier to attach to panels individually directly behind each panel. Much easier for wire management.
2021-03-17 16:49
Avatar
StephanHo
Moderator
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 1812
Supporter
Hi Dave,

you revived an over three year old corpse ;-)

The UNO is not longer supportet. That has its reasons. As you can read in the messages before, the UNO support is support is closed since 2017.

The firmware is meanwhile over 67kB and too large for the UNO. Also the UNO has only an EEPROM of 1kB. So the UNO is not suitable.

We recommend the Arduino MEGA 2560 (Brand or as clone) with 256kB of RAM and a 4kB EEPROM.
Here you have up to 69 I/O pins with the Mega and it is much more cheaper with less than 10€ (as clone).
Grüße,
Stephan (Time: UTC+1)
2021-03-17 18:05
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5474
Supporter
Prior ..... Sorry for my maybe agressive comment ! :blush:
This thematic is discussed so often and the arguments remain always the same.

I agree with you Dave.... Its sad if you own 4 Unos and they not work..... BUT 2 Megas will do the same.
Sure not everybody live in the US or Europe..... But also on other countrys people earn money and 20 US$ for 2 Megas is no extreme factor. Our Hobby cost money !
Guys who start from new and need to buy the controllers, basicly have no problem. A Uno and a Mega cost nearly the same. So they can directly buy Megas !

And the other argument..... I can´t hear it ones again.....
iconDrDave-:


A lot easier to attach to panels individually directly behind each panel. Much easier for wire management.



You put a wire into a Pinconnector..... tell me why it´s more easy to put it into a UNO instead of the 100% simular Pin of the Mega !
And also the Size.... I see hundrets of cockpits.... But i never see a Panel that have not enough space to put a Mega into it.
If you realy get space problems then use a "MegaProMini" ... 100% Compatibel but much smaller.
And finaly if you are in the building progress..... Simply design the panel in a size that the mega can be placed without trouble !

************
So sorry.... I understand your main intention.... But i can not agree.
A UNO is simply to weak to use it..... You also would not try to start in a Formula1 race with a 75PS Mazda !
Good Luck !
2021-03-17 21:03
Avatar
DrDave-
Posts: 3
Thank you for the explanation. Was not sure if anything changed to support UNO since 2017 (too many contradictions on Google). Went to the source. Very clear now.

::w00t:
2021-03-19 22:31
Avatar
Gabfus
Posts: 5
Hello, I have an elegoo uno r3 (arduino uno).
This not support more display led 7 digit? I want connect on chain but i receive error when I try to add new display that is supported only one display (is correct?).

I want know if this is a limit and if I buy a new board and witch is the best model for make an Autopilot with 5 encoder and 5 - 7 digit display in chain. You can add link of products on amazon or similar ?

Thanks
2022-01-06 11:38
Avatar
Gabfus
Posts: 5
Hello also encoder limit to 3. I have analig a0 to a5 free to use for 4' encoder , but the software not allow me!
I think that I buy a latest Arduino mega r3 with more io.

There are a list of boards with a list of limitations?
2022-01-06 14:53
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5474
Supporter
Hi

I personaly recommend MEGAS in case the have the most posibilitys and are supported now and in the future 100% without any trouble....

But i can give you the "current" Limits....

UNO:
#define MODULE_MAX_PINS 13
#define MAX_OUTPUTS 8
#define MAX_BUTTONS 8
#define MAX_LEDSEGMENTS 1
#define MAX_ENCODERS 3
#define MAX_STEPPERS 2
#define MAX_MFSERVOS 2
#define MAX_MFLCD_I2C 2
#define MAX_ANALOG_INPUTS 3
#define MAX_SHIFTERS 2
#define MAX_INPUT_SHIFTERS 2

MICRO:
#define MODULE_MAX_PINS 21
#define MAX_OUTPUTS 18
#define MAX_BUTTONS 18
#define MAX_LEDSEGMENTS 1
#define MAX_ENCODERS 5
#define MAX_STEPPERS 3
#define MAX_MFSERVOS 3
#define MAX_MFLCD_I2C 2
#define MAX_ANALOG_INPUTS 5
#define MAX_SHIFTERS 2
#define MAX_INPUT_SHIFTERS 2

MEGA:
#define MODULE_MAX_PINS 69
#define MAX_OUTPUTS 40
#define MAX_BUTTONS 68
#define MAX_LEDSEGMENTS 4
#define MAX_ENCODERS 20
#define MAX_STEPPERS 10
#define MAX_MFSERVOS 10
#define MAX_MFLCD_I2C 2
#define MAX_ANALOG_INPUTS 16
#define MAX_SHIFTERS 4
#define MAX_INPUT_SHIFTERS 4
Good Luck !
2022-01-06 15:44
Avatar
Gabfus
Posts: 5
Thanks for information.
2022-01-07 12:02
Avatar
slammer88
From: LTBJ, Turkey
Posts: 153
Hi,

I've got a pre-built 737 throttle, all set and working with Air Manager and powered with UNO, how can I make it work with Mobi right now? What's current situation?
2022-05-14 09:21
Avatar
slammer88
From: LTBJ, Turkey
Posts: 153
Ok I handled via xloader, managed to work 2 analog axis', however the board timeouts randomly, and I have to restart the Mobi or un/replug the USB cable.

Any plans for the near future? I can't replace the board with a Mega, there's not enough place in it :)
2022-05-14 10:50
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5474
Supporter
Meanwhile UNO is supported ( i think since 9.x)

I not know how airmanager is working here.... But for sure you can use meanwhile the UNO as a Mobiflight Board.

BUT

I expect the UNO is used till now as a Joystick Controller (HID) .

If i'm right....

Unos are not HID by itself.... So i think they change the internal Firmware/Bootloader .
I expect MF no longer can detect it as a Uno.... Its a HID Controller now.
To work with MF you would need to reset the UNO into a standard System.
I have done this last time, years ago. I need to "bridge some Pins" to open a DFU Mode.
There was a manual and tutorial somwhere in the web,
Good Luck !
2022-05-14 12:44
Avatar
slammer88
From: LTBJ, Turkey
Posts: 153
Well, I don't know if its HID or not but as mentioned in the 1st entry, Uno is recognized as a Mega first, I only was able to boot the uno hex via xloader, only then it worked and let me put some configs, however it tends to stop randomly..
2022-05-15 07:56
Go to page 1Go to page 012Go to page 2Go to page 2