MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
lebapsus
Posts: 10
hi,
Everything seems ok for the digital inputs.
But, now, i would like to install potentiometers to control the rudder, the throttle, ... And I can't do it: I try with FSUIPC EventID and it only works in one direction.
I need help for that, thank you
Best regards
2021-09-22 09:42
Avatar
lebapsus
Posts: 10
Sorry for my post,
I just asked a question concerning the potentiometers and I see that mobiflight does not manage them.
Leonardo is the solution, but my problem is that there are only 6 analog inputs. And I need more.
And there, I don't know how to do it anymore.
2021-09-22 09:50
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5648
Supporter
MF meanwhile also support Potentiometers.....
But as i said often..... For Controlls like Rudder , Yoke and so on this is not a real solution via MF.

It work fine for things like Dimm Selectors or Volume Potis in the Radio ( low linear inputs)...... But for Controlls mostly a much more advanced System is needed.
Deadzones on both Ends..... Non Linear increase of steering.... High resolution needed.... And mostly not verrry comfortable via "Offset write".

So for Main Controlls we recommend to use a "real" Joystick Controller (HID)
No need to build it within MF if it still exist in a perfect way in every Sim on the market. Simply use the Sim internal Controll Setings and assigned the Joy Axis !

About Number of Devices.....
I don´t know how many axis are supported on Windows side..... But i think its also 6.....
If you need more axis simply connect another Leo (HID Controller). Windows can handle garantee 16 ( or maybe 32 or 64 ) individual Joysticks.
Good Luck !
2021-09-22 11:06
Avatar
lebapsus
Posts: 10
Hello,
thanks for the info, but i have already built some parts in 3d printer and i don't want to buy commercial parts. It is for this reason that I would like to find a way to pilot them by myself. And I have tried several arduino and it seems to me that they conflict with each other.
Could you tell me how to configure a potentiometer in mobiflight. At least that will help me for the radio.
thank you
2021-10-03 11:30
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5648
Supporter
A Radio use no Potentiometer and make no sense with it ! ( Expect the Volume selector).
The Frequency is a Encoder ( cause it must be able to turn "over" the end to start from lower frequency again ! )

Also the argument of 3D Printing is not logical. its no mater if you plot or print your Hardware..... No difference if you connect the wire into a Mobiflight Board or a Joystick Controller Board. You also not need to buy a real Joy Controller or a expensive LEo Bodnar..... Order a simple Arduino Micro ( or nano i think) and flash a free Github Code onto it.... And then it´s a joystick controller. Collusion with MF ?? Disable the Auto Firmware Update Tool and there is no longer a conflict !

If you like to use MF you can look in many other topics ( that explane the system) or you check Discord ( also a lot of info there).

Whatever it not change the fact..... MF is not build to use Potis for Primary Flight Controlls. You can try and build this but you will not be happy i garantee!
Good Luck !
2021-10-05 14:40
Avatar
lebapsus
Posts: 10
Thank you,
"Disable the Auto Firmware Update Tool and there is no longer a conflict !"
what firmware are you talking about i would like to try
2021-10-08 09:01
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5648
Supporter
Mobiflight scan at startup all Ports of the Computer. Then it check the VID-PID of the Devices there.
In the MF Code there is a list of VID´s that are used regulary for Arduino Mega,Uno and Micros.

So for example if MF detect a device on a Port ( lets say Your Mouse) then it will see this is NOT a Arduino..... And it will ignore it.
If it detect a Arduino Mega on it then it check if this Mega have a firmware from MF. If Yes it work with it. If no MF Firmware is there MF ask you to Upload our Firmware and make it inot a MobiflightBoard !

And here is the point !
If you use a Arduino (So a Board with one of the VID´s on the list) BUT you not like to use it with Mobiflight (e.g. as a Joystick Controller or with a own writtren sketch)
then MF will ask you on every startup to Update this board. ( Cause MF can not know if it is not a new mega you like to flash)

By disbale the AutoUpdate Feature ( MF Settings Tab Checkmark ) you can tell MF to stop this update process. But for sure...... If you like to use a new Mega for Mobiflight you will not get the Flash option at startup again now.
So you need to enable it again for one run on this point..... Or you need to upload the firmware with a external tool.
And Yes..... If you use the Flash Function in this case again then you must temporary disconnect the Joystick(s) cause MF would also try to flash these boards at that moment!
Good Luck !
2021-10-08 14:36
Avatar
Ilirio
Posts: 37
So, I was also planning to build a throttle quadrant (at least a concept test at the beggining) for the new MSFS2020 JU-52 with some potis and Mobiflight software. If I understood well, it is not a problem with the potis or with the Arduino interface but with Mobiflight way of working?

Which will be the problems I will find if I use Mobiflight for the throttle? I don't need exquisite precision nor extremly low latency...
2021-10-21 07:24
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5648
Supporter
Keep a little patient.

Sebastian start some weeks ago to implement a "additional Poti Tool" .

Above we talk of usage of Potentiometers on the Mobiflight Mega Boards and directly handle them within MF ( Hard and Software side).
HEre the problem is that we have to reduce the polling rate and flat the curve of informations to not overrun the Data Comunication between Mega and MF.

BUT

Sebastian also implement a new System that we can recive Data from HID Devices in the newest BETA Release..... Means MF now see all Mega (Mobiflight Boards) AND it also see all Joysticks (HID) of that Computer.....
MEans we can say in a Input Config..... "Use Joystick X Button Y for that" same way as we would in the past say "USe ButtonX on Pin 5 of the Mega"
And YES.... this also work for the AXIS. And in case we no longer need to read this via the Serial Port of the Mega and we can get the Data directly from The Windows HID Controller Interface..... This is much more accurate and fast!

So... Expect a 100% working Joystick Axis support in the near future.... Also for Controll Axis like Rudder..... ( Whatever i still say this is not logical in case Controll Axis can be set in the Sim within 5 Seconds and any bypass like MF is a mess! )
Good Luck !
2021-10-21 20:28
Avatar
Ilirio
Posts: 37
:w00t: :w00t: :w00t:

That's great news. Sounds really fantastic. Thank you for the advance.

I'll wait then as I seems the best approach for my throttle quadrant project
2021-10-25 07:14
icon