MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

Go to page 1Go to page 112Go to page 3Go to page 2
Avatar
herbiem
Posts: 71
Supporter
Thanks again Ken for your help
I also have the A2A C172 and that's next on my list to have the pane work with it.
Not sure if you can help further or not but this is what I have working
All the 6 pack of the Cessna 172 except the Heading Indicator
With the HD the heading bug encoder changes the bug no problem (0x07CC Autopilot - AP Heading Value)
The dial encoder changes the dial (0x0C3E as suggested by pizman82) OK but it does not take the bug with it as it does on the sim
This is what I am trying to do. I am trying pizman's82 as in his last post but no success yet
do you have a solution apart form using Lua,
Ian
2020-10-18 05:12
Avatar
herbiem
Posts: 71
Supporter
SOLVED:thumbup: :thumbup: Thanks to krono and pizman82
For others that might want the settings for "Heading Indicator"
INPUTS
Encoder for the Heading Bug = Event ID - Heading_Bug_Deg On Left = Event ID 65880 Param -182
On Right = Event ID 65879 Param +182
Encoder for the Dial = Event ID - Gryo_Drift_Deg On left = Event ID 65878 Param 0
On Right = Event ID 65877 Param 0
OUTPUTS
Stepper for the Bug = Offset 0x07CC 2 bytes Transform (360-#)+(($*360)/65536). Compare = <0 ,set it to $+360 else $. Display Compass Mode
Note I have the"#" in the transform is there because this is what I used for the placeholder for the heading dial stepper. ( great I learnt about placeholders at the same time)

Stepper for the Dial = Offset 0x0C3E 2 bytes Transform $*360/65536. Compare = <0 ,set it to $+360 else $. Display Compass Mode
This works fine on my FSX C172
Thanks again for the help and suggestions
I have now decided to add the ADF to my panel so will see how I go:|
Ian
2020-10-18 06:23
Avatar
krono
Posts: 27
herbiem

I am glad to hear that you have solved your problem. If you need any help or suggestions just ask here as I run all of the 6 pack with steppers and encoders. I am at the moment however redesigning my attitude gauge that runs on 2 steppers and adding a micro slip ring on the pitch angle motor.Good luck with your sim

Ken
2020-10-19 02:51
Avatar
herbiem
Posts: 71
Supporter
Well I thought I had solved this one:mad:
Every thing all most works as expected
The HDG Bug encoder moves the Dial on the sim and my panel as expected. And the Dial moves both on the sim and on my panel with the encoder
The problem I found on further testing is that when I change course in the sim the dial in the sim moves accordingly as expected BUT the dial on my panel does not move
I have been trying for a few days now different comparisons but still no luck
Does any one have any ideas
My set up is as described in my post on the 18/10/2020
Ian
2020-10-27 00:07
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5474
Supporter
I not understand what you mean.

Can you make a video or explane more detailed what you mean with "you change course in Sim".
Again the same recommendation.... Discord would be cool to directly talk or see the situation. Sending Pics or Live video is no problem there.
Good Luck !
2020-10-27 10:17
Avatar
herbiem
Posts: 71
Supporter
Hi again
I do not have the resources to make a video but will try and explain a little better
What I mean when I say " change course in Sim" is that when I turn the yoke to either the left or right to change corse the HDG dial and Bug rotate in the appropriate direction.
But the dial on my panel does not move
Just to refresh that the encoder that moves the HDG Bug on my panel works OK
And the that operates the Dial and also takes the Bug with it also works ok on my panel
These are the settings I have, but the Dial on my panel does not move

INPUTS
Encoder for the Heading Bug = Event ID - Heading_Bug_Deg On Left = Event ID 65880 Param -182
On Right = Event ID 65879 Param +182
Encoder for the Dial = Event ID - Gryo_Drift_Deg On left = Event ID 65878 Param 0
On Right = Event ID 65877 Param 0
OUTPUTS
Stepper for the Bug = Offset 0x07CC 2 bytes Transform (360-#)+(($*360)/65536). Compare = <0 ,set it to $+360 else $. Display Compass Mode
Note I have the"#" in the transform is there because this is what I used for the placeholder for the heading dial stepper. ( great I learnt about placeholders at the same time)
Stepper for the Dial = Offset 0x0C3E 2 bytes Transform $*360/65536. Compare = <0 ,set it to $+360 else $. Display Compass Mode
This works fine on my FSX C172
I am sure I am missing something out of the "Transform for the Stepper BUG but are not sure what
I also have a slimier issue with the ADF I have made but will save that for another post
Ian
2020-10-28 09:29
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 5474
Supporter
I need to test this..... Got the message that we get another Lockdown in Germany.... So i will have a lot of time within 2.11 until end of November.
Please stay calm until next week. If i forget to do this please remember me here or via Discord !
Good Luck !
2020-10-28 18:04
Go to page 1Go to page 112Go to page 3Go to page 2