MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
SPowell42
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to Arduino and MobiFlight, but I've been a flight simmer for going on 40 years. I have an idea to start making a 6 pack to use with the upcoming MSFS 2020. I'm hoping someone can help answer a few basic questions to get me on the right track.

1. It seems like I have to purchase a mega - is there any way for me to do basic testing using an Uno? It seems to have all the same capabilities that the micro pro has, but it doesn't look like it's supported?

2. I have an idea that once I finish "playing" and get down to real work, I'd have one Arduino board per group of instruments (e.g. the 6 pack would have it's own Arduino board) and then have a "master" arduino board that talks to FSX via MobiFlight - potentially using the i2c bus to talk with the instrument boards. Does this make sense?

3. Do we know yet if MobiFlight is going to work with MSFS 2020? Is that completely dependent on whether FSUIPC supports it - of if FSUIPC does support it, does that mean automatically MobiFlight will?

Appreciate the help for a complete newb, thank you!
Scott
2020-07-22 03:53
RudyB
1. To make it easy on yourself just get a Mega for all your testing. Pro Mini's are prone to bricking themselves. UNO is not officially supported.
2. Every Mega is connected to the PC via USB. With the use of a 4x or 8x USB hub there's just one cable to the PC. If you have servos or many LEDs connected it's wise to use a separate power supply to feed those. Connect the GND to the Arduino GND.