MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Th3Scop3DJ
Hello everyone.

I'm totally new to Mobiflight. I watched some videos, looked through the manual and the tutorials on the website and thought, well, that looks quite simple. Finally I can control servos and ultimately my gauges in my overhead panel.

I'm using:
P3D v4.5 & V5
PMDG 737NGXu
FSUIPC 6 (registered)

Today my Arduino came and I hooked it up my Opencockpits Engine Starter panel as described in the tutorial. Yay! If I test it in the mobiflight wizard it works. Wow, that felt awesome!
Then I thought, I just need to browse through the presets and that's it. Little did I know that this wasn't the case. After reading through offsets and PMDG event ID's my head feels like mush.

I'm totally confused with these offsets, Bytes 0XFF / how many "F"? Does it matter? Booom .... I thought for everything what happens in my simulator (P3D) and inside the aircraft (PMDG 737NGXu) there is a unique offset. Flip that switch - use that 0xF65 whatever number and you're good to go. But what are those Bytes?

In the documentation I managed to find the offset for the starter switch. I fired up P3D and when I move it to GRD it moves the servo imitently to the position so that the switch is back in the OFF position. In the PMDG offset thing it says

64FC - 2 - BYTE - x 2 - ENG_StartSelector[2]

0: GRD
1: OFF
2: CONT
3: FLT

What does Data type mean? And is there a "x2" because we have two switches? Where do I have to insert 0,1,2 or 3 to select the position? Where is the difference between INT, float etc.? What is "Boolean"?