MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
Yrbolo
Posts: 3
Hello everyone,
I recently discovered Mobiflight and wanted to use 3 LCDs. But the limit is set to 2.

So I modified the sources to allow the use of 3 LCDs:
Firmware MEGA => change
iconCode:
#define MAX_MFLCD_I2C 3


However, I also had to modify the software source code to add a 2500ms pause, not planned for the Mega, before reading the configuration (LoadConfig()):
=> File MobiFlightModule.cs =>
iconCode:
System.Threading.Thread.Sleep (2500);

Without this, the Mega was no longer detected at startup.
Could someone tell me if this can have side effects on the use of Mobiflight?
Thank you :thumbup:
2020-03-28 10:01
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3732
Supporter
Hi

Here Sebastian is your man. Hopefully he read this and awnser next time.

About the Limit...
Note that the Limitation is not for the whole System.... It is for one Mega Board. So if you use 2 Megas you can use 4 Displays .... 3 Megas = 6 Displays and so on.
In case most Displays use the same Adress and are hardcoded so we can not change it ( only by resolder jumper bridges) i will say most users simply use 1 Display per board only.

Sure... If you use Mobiflight just for this 3 Displays then its bad for you to work with a second Mega..... But normaly People who need more then 2 Displays also build a lot of Switches and Buttons.... So they use already two or more Megas and then the Display limit is no longer problematic.
Good Luck !
2020-03-28 12:15
Avatar
Yrbolo
Posts: 3
Thank you pizman82 for this precise answer :thumbup: .
Indeed, the simplest will be to use several Megas, Mobiflight is so well constructed that it will be very easy.
It's just that to test the possibilities offered by Mobiflight, I had only one Mega and 3 LCD displays on hand, but it will actually be wiser to use several Mega, especially since their price is very affordable.
At the same time it allowed me to take over the firmware and the source code, it can still be useful :)
2020-03-28 19:02
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3732
Supporter
Thats no problem.....

Basicly Mobiflight is Open Source and Users who be able to rework the code are free to do this.
If you script other usefull elements you can get in contact to Sebastian ( via Bitbucket).... He feel happy if somebody support him.

Just a last thing.
If you get in trouble in the future and you found a bug or you like to report a problem..... Please then make a testrun with the original Mobiflight Version instead of your custom version. If problem still exist there you can report here and we try to help you..... But please apollogy we not support custom Versions here in Forum.

LAST NOTE:
Not forget to disable Auto Update or to rework Version Number by hand.... Else with next release the AutoDownloader ask you to update Mobiflight and this will replace your custom settings again with the official release version !
Good Luck !
2020-03-28 21:33
Avatar
Yrbolo
Posts: 3
I do not wish to have a personalized version. I know from experience that it is complex to manage. I just tried to understand why the limitation of I2C components. I will therefore revert to the initial version of Mobiflight.
I plan to add other types of components, if I find the time. And in this case, I would contact Sebastian.
Thank you for all this useful informations.
2020-03-30 08:34
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3732
Supporter
Hmmm.

I not know if this Limit is needed.... Or if it just have a logical reason .... Or if it is totaly random.
Hardly said... Maby he just use 2 Displays for testing and wrote "2" in this codeline to test both same time... If he would have used 4 Displays instead maby the number will be 4 Today.

So.... Wait for a awnser by Sebastian OR Simply change the code and test it. Pretty sure you will see it if there is a problem.
Good Luck !
2020-03-30 12:33
icon