MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
pianista
Hi!

First of all, Thank you for this amazing software. I did a first test using displays to have the COM radio's

I'm having an issue trying to do a test in a protoboard using the EC11 (https://es.aliexpress.com/item/32871669683.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.28a963c0a1CSBx), I want to use them to move the COM1/2/NAV radios (using the push button to change decimals, or numbers)

I tried to find some tutorial using this kind of encoder (I'm a newbie) but I didn't found one, so I read a lot of different articles and tests with other encoders.

As far as I know the encoder has 5 pins (2 for push button, and 3 for the encoder).

I tried to use just the 3 pins of the encoder, using: the left and right pins connected to the Arduino 22 and 24 pins, and the center pin to ground. But nothing happens, I tried configuring them as FSUIPC events (Com radio increase, Com radio decrease), also using variables changes $+1, but I'm not capable of run a basic example.

May be I need also to plug the push button wires? In the case of the push button I'm not sure how I should accomplish that. Should I connect one pin to an Arduino input, and the other to 5V? Which pin is the good to connect to the 5V?

Thank you!!

Regards!
2019-11-07 10:07
StephanHo
Supporter
Hi pianista!

Welcome to MobiFlight!

In principle, all encoders work the same with MobiFlight. The EC11 is probably the best known of ALPS and is also used very often.

The encoder has at the pins designations: A, B, C, D, E

D and E are the switch. You can put D or E on GND and the other you connect to the pin of the MEGA.