MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

Go to page 1Go to page 112Go to page 3Go to page 2
Avatar
HansK
From: The Hague, Netherlands
Posts: 21
Supporter
Pizman,

Excellent idea! I will try it in the next days (Tomorrow I have to help my daughter moving to a new house)

Gr. Hans
2017-04-27 22:22
Avatar
HansK
From: The Hague, Netherlands
Posts: 21
Supporter
Gentleman,

This threat can be closed, but before that is done I have to inform you about the final results.

First: the Arduino is now functioning fine in combination with the MF software and is it doing what it is supposed to do. So, I am happy.

A short summary about what happened since my last post:
Last information was that the second Arduino looks functioning well. However after several cold restarts it had the same behaviour as the first one so I concluded that most likely it has nothing to do with the Arduino Hardware.
To be sure I reinstalled the software on the first board as suggested by Pizman and did some testing with a lot of cold restarts with both Arduino's on a second PC: no problems.
Then I disconnected all the connections (mainly P & P radiosets from Open Cockpits) to the USB hub in the pedestal (Sitecom, ext. powered), cleared the USB connections in Windows too and connected only the Arduino. Even after a lot of cold restarts the Arduino was well detected by the MF software.
As soon as I connected the other USB units in the pedestal the problem was back. So I decided to connect the Arduino to another USB hub (same model, but outside the pedestal) and all was and is functioning well.
What the reason is for this behaviour: I don't know, probably I do some other testing in the future. For the moment I am happy and know that at least the Arduino's I have are for some reason sensitive for the way they are connected to an USB hub.

I am grateful for the support on this forum. Thanks!

Hans
2017-05-08 10:13
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3723
Supporter
:thumbup:
Nice it workes !
I will mark this thread as "Solved" !

Note:
Maby this is interesting, too. With pasing time we got even more users that work with a real big and complex cockpit..... These problems can´t be seen if we only use 3-5 ardionos.
Maby in future we can make a guideline like " Not use more then x Arduinos on one USB Hub" or "Not connect Arduinos and PlugAndPlay Controllers on SAME Hub"

Maby a Engeneer for electronics or a Professional System Administrator can comment this, too. I Always thought it´s no matter if i connect a Unit into a Direct USB Port or via a Hub.
Let´s wait for more reports if this come again...... So @ALL Please report every issue that occores from USB Hubs !
Good Luck !
2017-05-08 15:39
Avatar
Mishkacat
Posts: 13
Supporter
Hi,

I have just had a similar problem with a powered hub. I bought a new hub so I could plug all 3 of my Arduino Mega (clones) into the same place, but they refused to work in the powered hub - they all work fine in a non powered hub - so I assumed there was a fault with this new hub but after finding this thread I wondered if the comment that all connected devices should use the same ground could be the problem. The PC is connected to 1 plug board - the powered hub in another plugboard.

Now both these boards are connected to same same ring circuit so I assumed they would be grounded the same via the earth cable.

So I tried connecting the powered USB hub into the same plugboard and the cards were connected. Not sure why this would be but anyone having these non connecting issues with a powered hub should give this a try.

Hope it helps

Dave
2018-02-28 09:39
Avatar
fazli
Posts: 87
i got same problem. led yellow ligh behind pin13line up.
firmware n/a
com port 3
serial n/a
2019-08-11 22:55
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 3723
Supporter
fazli.....

Your not a new user and know the procedure.

Give us ALL needed information !
How many boards do you use ? Are all rpoblematic or still one ? Is the whole board problematic or only devices on special Pins ?

If you guys report a problem then please NOT make a 3 line report mith less then 160 chars like a SMS ...... Tell us much detailed as possible what is happend..... then we can help you !
Good Luck !
2019-08-11 23:44
Go to page 1Go to page 112Go to page 3Go to page 2