MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

You like MobiFlight? Donate via PayPal and support the MobiFlight development. Thanks! 

icon
Avatar
abdomirage
From: HECA, Egypt
Posts: 6
hi everybody
i want to make this topic like a reference for PMDG gagues or any thing using stepmotors or servos to help others who searching about the lovely pmdg Settings with great mobiflight software to make it Easier in one place :) :)
so I will start
all my Settings with 28BYJ-48 Uln2003 stepper motor
1-#wet compass#
offset:0x02CC,
Int, 8 bytes
Display settings
Sim / Stepper: 360/2048
test value 2048
Compass mode clicked.
transform:NO
compare/Interpolation-Settings:NO

2-#EGT gague#

offset :0x648C
float .4 bytes
Display settings
Sim / Stepper:1600/4096
test value :1000
transform:$*0.582
compare/Interpolation-Settings:NO


3-#flap gague #
offset :0x6568
float .4 bytes

Display settings
Sim/Stepper: 3600 / 2040
test-Value :2730
transform: $*1000
compare/Interpolation-Settings:
Input Output
0 0
1000 360
2000 750
5000 1140
10000 1500
15000 1790
25000 2070
30000 2380
40000 2690

4-#duct press gague #L needle & i think the same for R needle
offset:0x6C38
float. 4bytes
Display settings
Sim/Stepper:1000/3072
test value :500
transform:$*5
compare/Interpolation-Settings:NO

I tested all of them & work with my PMDG 100%
if you have stepmotor or servo
Settings plz share it with us in this topic :)
best regards 4 all & good luck
abdo
[Last edited by abdomirage, 2018-01-24 04:17]
ONLY EASY DAY WAS YESTERDAY
2018-01-24 03:58
Avatar
John-Alex-Warren
Posts: 18
iconabdomirage:


3-#flap gague #
offset :0x6568
float .4 bytes

Display settings
Sim/Stepper: 3600 / 2040
test-Value :2730
transform: $*1000
compare/Interpolation-Settings:
Input Output
0 0
1000 360
2000 750
5000 1140
10000 1500
15000 1790
25000 2070
30000 2380
40000 2690



Which way round did your stepper go? Mine went anti-clockwise, so I changed the right column in the interpolation settings to negative numbers and now it goes the correct way. Is this the only/proper way to do it?
2018-05-30 23:22
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2735
Supporter
Hi

First ot basic topic....

Thanky for your Information.
The Compass is working pretty shure correct.

BUT:
Thats only cause a compass will look same way for every user ( a 360° Gauge got everytime 360° Compas steps)

ALL Other gauges can not shared like a "Recommend Value setting" guide like you do !
Thats cause your gauge simply not "must" look like my gauge.
Check for example this picture from 2 APU EGT Gauges.... http://www.b737.org.uk/apu.htm
We got both the PMDG Output Value same way... But for example "400°" is on a different point of the gauge on both systems
So your $*0,582 in combination with SIM 1600/2048 will only work for the optical variation of YOUR Gauge !

Same happens if a user design his gauge individualy.... Maby he will use for Flaps a other optic where the 2 Position is 5 degrees more left or right like in yours.
Then your interpolation value for that step is wrong !

Summary.... A Good idea... And pretty shure helpfull for beginners...
BUT Only usefull if you share your gauges ( Print version e.g. so the user can duplicate youre gauge 1:1... Only THEN it will work with your values 100% )

********
@ John
We talk about this some time ago in a other topic.
This software solution is correct and should work.
But i read a simply swapping of the Datalines of Stepper should work, too and change direction.
At the moment i not own a stepper here. If you like you can try out.
Please simply disconnect your MEGA.... Swap the 2 and 3 Cable on the Arduino 2>>>3 and 3>>2 .
Make a test.
If Direction is inverted please report us.... If not you can also test the "other" side.
Bring the Cables back to original setup on Arduino and NOW change the wires from ULN2003 to Stepper Motor ( Again 2-3)

If my information are correct one ( or both) technics should simply invert the stepper .

Thanks for testing at this point !
Good Luck !
2018-05-31 06:03
Avatar
gmcallis
Posts: 28
Some of my settings for the PMDG 737NGX.

1. -- Fuel Temperature --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x6458
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation : Not required.

Display Settings
Use type of : Stepper
Sim / Stepper : 100/1500
Test Value : 50

2. -- EGT --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x648C
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4

Compare / Interpolation : Not required.

Display Settings
Use type of : Stepper
Sim / Stepper : 650 / 865
Test Value : 650

3. -- Cabin Altitude --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x6C24
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation
Input / Output
0 / 7000
5000 / 15000
10000 / 17500
50000 / 50000
Note : 50000 / 50000 wouldn't be correct but since the cabin altitude would rarely, if ever, exceed 10000 entries after 10000 are not really required.

Display Settings
Use type of : Servo
Min. Value : 0
Max. Value 50000
Max. Rotation : 90%

3. -- Differential Pressure --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x6C28
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : S*1000

Compare / Interpolation
Input / Output
0 / 1550
1000 / 2300
2000 / 3000
3000 / 3800
4000 / 4400
5000 / 5250
6000 / 6050
7000 / 7000
8000 / 7650
9000 / 9000

Display Settings
Use type of : Servo
Min. Value : 0
Max. Value 10000
Max. Rotation : 90%

4. -- Cabin Vertical Speed --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x6C2C
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation
Input / Output
-4000 . -4000
-1000 / -2000
0 / 0
1000 / 2000
4000 / 4000

Display Settings
Use type of : Stepper
Sim / Stepper : 8000 / 2000
Test Value : 1000

5. -- Air Temperature --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x6C34
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation : Not Required

Display Settings
Use type of : Stepper
Sim / Stepper : 100 / 1462
Test Value : 30

6. -- Air Duct Pressure (Left) --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x65D8
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation
Input / Output
0 / 22
40 / 43

Display Settings
Use type of : Servo
Min. Value : 0
Max. Value 80
Max. Rotation : 100%

7. -- Air Duct Pressure (Right) --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x65DC
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation
Input / Output
0 / 16
40 / 36

Display Settings
Use type of : Servo
Min. Value : 0
Max. Value 80
Max. Rotation : 100%

I have the PCFlights.com dual needle gauges for the Cabin Altitude / Differential Pressure and Air Duct Pressure. Hence why I have two different settings for the two seperate needles.

Hope these help fellow simmers, or at least point them in the right direction, then may only require some minor fiddling as whilst most steppers are very similar, servos can be a different kettle of fish.

Graham McAllister
2018-06-11 09:11
Avatar
DZFlight
Posts: 5
Hi guyas ! i just set in mobiflight my cabin climb gauge as setted by #gmcallis but the needle dont exceed the DN and never climb to 0 !! as you can see in the video below!! any idea abut that plz thx :cry:

https://youtu.be/bsln8TgvZdM
2019-07-09 21:16
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2735
Supporter
Hi

AT FIRST !
I still recommend to NOT use a "copy" of a other Users. As i explane above... If your Gauge is not 100% simmular then the used Values and Configs will not work correct.
Also let me say.... When i see some configs from Users ( If they send to me for repairs and troubleshooting) then i sometimes get freaky and my head blow up in case how difficult and stupid :confused: they are.
Sure... You can controll a Motor with 1000 different configs in same result..... But target should be to use the fastest and easyest way..... NOT a "strange" couple of senseless steps.... whatever they come to the SAME Result.

So finaly i recommend to you.....
1. Check the Offset. Read it (without any compare, transform, interpolation and WITHOUT a Device) and just find out how it work. Change situation in Sim and check the offset reaction .... Find Out... What is the lowest value What is the highest Value..... and How does the Offset look like ( float, Full number , positive, negative ?)
2 Think about how you need to rework the value to show it on your gauge.
3.Think about how you must setup your gauge like reduce of rotation , nr of Steps and so on.

Learning and understanding this, is 1000 times more profitable as copy-paste a solution of a other user ! ;)


*****************************************************************

About your Problem:
I not rebuild this at the moment.... And i can not tell you if the Config work 100%
I also can not tell you if the config is the most profitable solution or as i said above a "to much difficult / stupid " alternate (that work) ....
So i can just tell you the issues i see on first overview YOU did while rebuilding it .

iconQuote:

3. -- Cabin Altitude --

FSUIPC
Offset : 0x6C24
Value Type : Float, Size in Bytes : 4
Transform : False

Compare / Interpolation
Input / Output
0 / 7000
5000 / 15000
10000 / 17500
50000 / 50000
Note : 50000 / 50000 wouldn't be correct but since the cabin altitude would rarely, if ever, exceed 10000 entries after 10000 are not really required.

Display Settings
Use type of : Servo
Min. Value : 0
Max. Value 50000
Max. Rotation : 90%



1. You use a Transform $*50000 .... He NOT.
2. You use in Interpolation 0 = 5000 he use 0=7000
3. You use Rotation 100% He use 90%
4. In video it looks like your gauge turn in wrong direction ..... Not sure if this is a issue in case of wrong Errors (1,2,3) OR if you simply mount the Motor 180° Inverted.

You see..... If you just copy a Config without understanding it.... AND if you also make 3 Major Mistakes while copy it :rolleyes: THEN it can never work !

Try to fix it. If you need more help, request here. We try to support you !
Good Luck !
2019-07-11 03:07
Avatar
ismail82
Posts: 2
Hello....

I Need your help!!

I did exactly the same you have written, with the same stepper Motor and so on...I have also the PMDG but it simply doesn't work!!

When the needle of the APU EGT is moving in the FSX PMDG Cockpit my stepper Motor doesn't even move….

In the test mode in mobiflight it works very well but in the Cockpit it doesn't work...Do you have any suggestions?

Best regards

Ismail
2019-08-09 00:07
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2735
Supporter
Please no Double Request.... Check your other topic you ask the 100% Same question !
Good Luck !
2019-08-09 01:43
Avatar
juanfortus
From: Torre del Mar / Malaga / Andalucia, Spain
Posts: 18
;) Hello, I need help I am configuring the flaps with Arduino mega, and I cannot make it move, I have made the configuration they have published step by step and it does not move anything, they could help me I do not understand what I am doing wrong, thanks
I'm a big fan of flight simulation, and I like to learn as well as spread my knowledge with whoever needs them.
2019-09-16 23:16
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 2735
Supporter
@ Juan

In case i can not see your situation /Config i not be able to help you.
Basicly i wrote it before multiple times..... Copy/Paste a Config is not my recommend solution ( Whatever i be thankfull for the posting of abdomirage )
Learn and understand the System is much more profitable!

So.... If you tell us WHAT i the exact problem then i can try to help you.

***********
Known issues.

1. Confirm Mobiflight and Button workes..... So try out with Standard Aircraft Functions to confirm hardware/software is ok.
2. Confirm PMDG workes..... Test anoter offsets from PMDG to confirm your Data-Broadcast is enabled.

Report your results and exact problem..... Then we find a solution !
Good Luck !
2019-09-17 02:48
icon