MobiFlight Community Support

Welcome to the forum for MobiFlight! Feel free to reach out to the community in case you have questions, issues or just want to share great ideas or details about your latest home cockpit project.

Unterstütze die Entwicklung von MobiFlight mit Deiner Spende 

Important note:
We have reorganized the forum a bit by creating new sub-forums. Your post might have been moved to a different sub-forum. Please use the 'mine'-button in case you can't find it. Sorry for any inconvenience.

We hope you like the change.

icon
Avatar
simone.galli@green-eyes.it
Posts: 6
Hi,
I am developing a project for a fully functional B737 overhead.
I need to work with 6 arduino board on a Exsys 7 ports industrial usb hubwith esternal power supply.
After connecting, updating firmware and configuring 5 arduino i had an issue with the 6th Atduino board.

After plugging the usb i start MFConnector to upload the firmware. After that I found the new Arduino working.
I made the configuration of the pin and renamed the default name of the board and uploaded and saved the configuration.
After that I close MFConnector.
One day after i start again MFConnector to complete the configuration and I found the first 5 Arduino working and the 6th Arduino in a unrecognized condition.
I tried to use a new one and after uploading the firmware and the configuration and closing MFConnector the next day I had the same issue.

Have you any ideas to solve the problem??
2018-11-10 08:14
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 1913
Supporter
Hi.
Here i´m not professional. I Work with only 2 Arduinos same time for my testing systems.
Please wait for reply by Stephan. He is the "pro" in things like Multi USB and Adresses.

First Aid:
Can you confirm the Problem is just the 6.th Arduino or is it the USB Hub ?

What happend if you set Arduino 1-5 via this Hub ( As you do already without problems) BUT you now set the 6th arduino direct to another free USB Port direct on your Computer .
Does it fix the Problem ?
Good Luck !
2018-11-10 08:23
Avatar
simone.galli@green-eyes.it
Posts: 6
The problem is on 6th Arduino.
Even if I connect the 6th Arduino directly to the PC and disconnect the the hub with the other 5 I had the same problem.
The other 5 Arduinos seems to be stable
Can you tell me how upload images? I will upload some immediatly.
Thanks
[Last edited by simone.galli@green-eyes.it, 2018-11-10 08:40]
2018-11-10 08:32
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 1913
Supporter
Hi.
this is a freeware Forum.... No Image-Upload is supported.

to show us pictures you must upload them somewhere (Own Webspace or a File Hoster Service)
Then you can use the "Image" Button above and coppy the LINK of your Image (where you upload it) in .... Then its in the posting.
For Bigger images you should simply use the URL Button and post the link so we can klick it.

About Problem:
Normaly number of USB Devices is not limmited ( Only by Windows) .... And Mobiflight should also have no Limit.
I Thnk Stephan or Sebastian can help here.... Pretty sure you must just chnge the Settings in the "USB Device Tab" of the 6th Board in Windows/System/Devicemanager
Good Luck !
2018-11-10 08:50
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 964
Supporter
You can upload screenshots via i.e. http://www.directupload.net and copy the hotlink into this topic.
Grüße,
Stephan
2018-11-10 08:58
Avatar
simone.galli@green-eyes.it
Posts: 6
This is my configuration:
http://www.directupload.net/file/d/5268/f5umhnll_jpg.htm
http://www.directupload.net/file/d/5268/s7i3r2he_jpg.htm

Any ideas??
I have a new issue.
On Arduino 2 named "OH A2" i made this configuration:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Config xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xmlns:xsd="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema">
<ModuleName />
<PowerSavingTime>600</PowerSavingTime>
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 2" Pin="2" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 3" Pin="3" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 4" Pin="4" />
<Stepper Name="A 2 PIN 5 6 7 8" Pin1="5" Pin2="6" Pin3="7" Pin4="8" BtnPin="5" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 9" Pin="9" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 10" Pin="10" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 11" Pin="11" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 12" Pin="12" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 13" Pin="13" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 14" Pin="14" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 15" Pin="15" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 16" Pin="16" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 17" Pin="17" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 18" Pin="18" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 19" Pin="19" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 20" Pin="20" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 21" Pin="21" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 22" Pin="22" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 23" Pin="23" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 24" Pin="24" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 25" Pin="25" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 26" Pin="26" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 27" Pin="27" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 28" Pin="28" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 29" Pin="29" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 30" Pin="30" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 31" Pin="31" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 32" Pin="32" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 33" Pin="33" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 34" Pin="34" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 35" Pin="35" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 36" Pin="36" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 37" Pin="37" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 38" Pin="38" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 39" Pin="39" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 40" Pin="40" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 41" Pin="41" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 42" Pin="42" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 43" Pin="43" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 44" Pin="44" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 45" Pin="45" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 46" Pin="46" />
<Button Name="A 2 PIN 47" Pin="47" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 48" Pin="48" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 49" Pin="49" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 50" Pin="50" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 51" Pin="51" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 52" Pin="52" />
<Output Name="A 2 PIN 53" Pin="53" />
</Config>

Configuring some pins for example pin 39 e pin 40 with the configuration shown below, the commands are not detected by MFConnector.

<config guid="3233ab9a-0744-461c-bb28-4d565cc5ec0d">
<active>true</active>
<description>EVT_OH_ELEC_GEN1_SWITCH_1</description>
<settings msdata:InstanceType="MobiFlight.InputConfigItem, MFConnector, Version=7.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" serial="OH A2/ SN-b6e-4e3" name="A 2 PIN 39" type="Button" xmlns:msdata="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xml-msdata">
<button>
<onPress type="EventIdInputAction" eventId="69662" param="2" />
<onRelease type="EventIdInputAction" eventId="69662" param="1" />
</button>
<preconditions />
</settings>
</config>
<config guid="19d866d9-c5c1-4005-8673-2bd6bc3993c3">
<active>true</active>
<description>EVT_OH_ELEC_GEN1_SWITCH_2</description>
<settings msdata:InstanceType="MobiFlight.InputConfigItem, MFConnector, Version=7.5.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" serial="OH A2/ SN-b6e-4e3" name="A 2 PIN 40" type="Button" xmlns:msdata="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:xml-msdata">
<button>
<onPress type="EventIdInputAction" eventId="69662" param="0" />
<onRelease type="EventIdInputAction" eventId="69662" param="1" />
</button>
<preconditions />
</settings>
</config>
<config guid="c18aab6d-5ad9-44de-a16c-89c8857e519a">
<active>true</active>

If I only program pins 39 and 40 and only configure the 2 inputs it works.
suggestions??

Thanks
Simone
[Last edited by simone.galli@green-eyes.it, 2018-11-11 20:25]
2018-11-11 20:18
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 964
Supporter
Hi Simone,

You have too many pins in use. You can define 40 for LEDs, 50 for buttons or a mix of it, but never more than 50 pins over all!

You have defined 52 pins:

39 for Buttons
4 for a stepper
9 for outputs

39+4+9=52

Reduce it and remove 2 buttons or outputs and it should run.
Grüße,
Stephan
2018-11-11 20:36
Avatar
simone.galli@green-eyes.it
Posts: 6
Hi Stephan,
following your instructions now modules 1 to 5 seem to work properly. The 2 blocked modules always remain. They do not let me see the serial number. Attempting to update the FW signals that the operation has ended positively but the modules are always blocked as in the photos previously attached. Do you have any proof to make me do?
Thanks in advance
Simone
2018-11-15 15:56
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 964
Supporter
Hi Simone,

after your have updated the firmware you should do the following:

1. quit Mobiflight
2. reset the module(s) with the red button on the board (you need not to disconnect them from USB )
3. wait 10 seconds
4. start Mobiflight
5. look into EXTRAS - SETTINGS - MOBIFLIGHT MODULES
6. highlight the module(s) with left mouse button
7. then you should see the firmware version and serial number

This has to be done because MF does not read the connected data from module(s) after a firmware update, so you have to restart MF and to reset the modules
Grüße,
Stephan
2018-11-15 22:42
Avatar
simone.galli@green-eyes.it
Posts: 6
Good morning,
even by performing this procedure my Arduino did not restart.
I solved by reloading the BootLoader with AVR DUDE and USBAsp. Arduino has resumed and allowed me to update it with the MobiFlight firmware.
Thanks anyway for the precious support you gave me.
Regards
Simone
2018-11-19 08:22
Avatar
simone.galli@green-eyes.it
Posts: 6
Hello,
I have another question regarding the maximum number of pins that can be managed on Arduino Mega.

You have indicated to me that the configurable pins are at most 50.

Configuring my 7 Arduino I found that not everyone was like that.

Can this depend on the type and number of connected peripherals? (Eg 7-segment display, stepper motors, encoders, buttons and LEDs)

How can we estimate the number of connections that can be made?

Does every type of device have a different weight? How heavy is it for the calculation?

Greetings
Simone
2018-11-21 17:55
Avatar
StephanHo
From: EDDG, Germany
Posts: 964
Supporter
Hi Simone,

I would choose a practical approach here.

Simply count the inputs (data to the simulator), ie switches (1 - 3 pins), buttons (1 pin), encoder (2 pins). Of these, a total of 50 may be used.

The output (data from the simulator) looks similar. The 7 segment display does not count the segments, not even the digits. Simply the 3 wires that drive the display, provided they are based on the MAX7219. If you use the MAX7219 as a daisy chain, no matter if 2 or 8 modules, there are only 3 wires or pins. Do you build a second daisy chain, again 3 pins.
An LED occupies a pin, you switch it in parallel or in series, it is only one pin - here only pay attention to the current.
A stepper occupies 4 pins, a LCD module 2 pins, a servo 1 pin.

You see, it's not that difficult to count out the pins.
It may be that I count here too precisely and actually more would be possible. I suspect pizman will be able to say something about whether I'm right or not.
Grüße,
Stephan
2018-11-21 22:36
Avatar
pizman82
Moderator
From: ETSI, Germany
Posts: 1913
Supporter
Here Sebastian change some stuff while time goes by..... So i´m not 100% Sure.

Basicly the Limits are written in the FAQ ... Please read it for detailed information.

Every Device have a Limit.... for Example 20 Encoder per Board.... 40 (50) Buttons per Board .... 40 LED Per Board and so on.

You can MixUp the devices.... For example 30 Switches and 20 LED .

As i know the Maximum used Pins number is 50 in the past ....maby now its 51 or 52 ... (not sure) ... I also think Pins "00" and "01" are NOT for use.

If you not use Pin 0 and 1 then Pin 2-53 are available ( Means 52 empty pins )
So 50 Pins in use should work 100% .... the last two pins you need to test.

I personaly not work with a full mega. In 99% of situations you need more then one board..... So Why put 52 devices to one and 10 to the other.... Simply split them up. With a good planing you will never need more then 50 Pins !
Good Luck !
2018-11-22 12:06
icon